Northern New England Section Of ASNE Elects Officers For 1976

northern new england section
of asne elects officers for 1976

The American Society of Naval Engineers' (ASNE) Northern New England Section elected a new slate of officers for 1976 at a recent dinner meeting held at the Portsmouth Naval Shipyard Officer's Club. Gary Adams was elected chairman, Harold Neville, vice chairman, Wadsworth Hardy, secretary, and Lt. Lynn Waite, USN, treasurer. Kenneth Lanzillo was elected councilman for three years, Rudolph Krause, councilman for two years, and Comdr. Leo Gies, USN, councilman for one year.

Following the dinner and the business meeting, an interesting lecture was presented to the members and guests by Capt. Thomas L. Albee, USN, head of the Advanced Technology Systems Division of the Naval Sea Systems Command, Research and Development Directorate. Captain Albee spoke about the employment of advanced marine vehicles in the U.S. Navy, elaborating on the "whys" and "hows" of the Navy's potential uses of hydrofoils, surface ships, air cushion vehicles, and small waterplane area twin hulls. Movies showing various high-speed craft in action were shown, following the main lecture and slide presentation.

shipyard R&R Marine high speed craft hydrofoils Captain business naval development technology officer american members chairman command research meeting craft engineers employment