Page 6: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (July 2010)

Satellite Communication Edition

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of July 2010 Maritime Reporter Magazine

6 Maritime Reporter & Engineering News

EDITOR’S NOTE

T he plots, sub-plots and undercurrents of the on- going oil spill disaster in the Gulf of Mexico makes the entirety of William Shakespeare’s work look positively pedestrian. Not an hour passes without some significant turn of events, and monitoring the situation has become sport for many.

Suffice it to say that the changes eminating from this single incident — from the political, technological and professional angles, to name just a few — will be severe and ongoing for a generation.

Last month on MaritimeProfessional.com — and reproduced in part on page 14 — Joe Keefe examines the disaster, adding insight and analysis regarding the near- and long-term future of BP. While the future of BP is certainly central to this unfolding drama, even more critical is the direction and future of offshore oil and gas exploration in and around U.S. waters, an industry which directly and indirectly generates hundreds of thousands of jobs and billions annually.

Last month in New York, on the heels of a successful Posidonia exhibition in

Greece, I attended MarineMoney’s New York City marine finance summit. Jim

Lawrence and company did their standard excellent job of attracting a veritable “Who’s Who” of shipping, finance and legal types. While talk in the conference room and the sidelines revolved mainly around traditional, big shipping issues, there were many discussions on how the looming ecological disaster in the Gulf would affect all maritime business.

Charles Fabrikant, Chairman, President and CEO of Seacor Holdings chaired a panel entitled: “Making Sense out of the U.S. Gulf Accident.” From his per- spective and that of his panelists, one of the topline concerns could be the in- creased liability — or the potentially catastrophic elimination of liability limits in oil discharge incidents. The question is: will regulations become so tough; in- surance demands so onorous; that we in effect shrink our industry and severely limit the number of companies able to explore?, Fabrikant pondered.

One of the panelists, Robert J. MacKenzie, Managing Director, Energy &

Natural Resouces Research, FBR Capital Markets, offered a more dire view: “The blowout was a tragic but preventable accident. The big question now is ‘what is the future of oil and gas production in the Gulf of Mexico.’ If the po- litical perception is one that this will drag on for years, you will see a mass exodus of rigs and supply boats from the Gulf of Mexico by year’s end.”

The panel came to a consensus that the accident and aftermath could drive the cost of doing business so high that it will effectively drive many of the small and medium-sized players out of the market. In concluding, Fabrikant offered an ominous — but by his own admission, a highly unlikely — thought: “If Congress were to remove all liability limits, I think it would effectively shut down off- shore oil and gas production (in the GOM).”

NEW YORK 118 E. 25th St., New York, NY 10010

Tel: (212) 477-6700; Fax: (212) 254-6271 e-mail: mren@ marinelink.com • Internet: www.marinelink.com

FLORIDA • 215 NW 3rd St., Boynton Beach, FL 33435

Tel: (561) 732-4368 Fax: (561) 732-6984

MARITIME

REPORTER

AND

ENGINEERING NEWS

PUBLISHERS

John E. O’Malley

John C. O'Malley • jomalley@marinelink.com

Associate Publisher & Editor

Gregory R. Trauthwein • trauthwein@marinelink.com

Contributing Editors Dennis L. Bryant • Rich DeSimone • Edward Lundquist • Matt Gresham

Editorial Consultant James R. McCaul, President, International Maritime Assoc.

PRODUCTION

Production Manager Oksana Martemy • martemy@marinelink.com

Production Assistant Amanda O’Malley • aomalley@marinelink.com

SALES

Vice President of Sales & Marketing

Rob Howard • howard@marinelink.com

Sales Administration & Office Manager Rhoda Morgan • morgan@marinelink.com

Sales & Event Coordinator Michelle Howard • mhoward@marinelink.com

Classified Sales Manager Dale L. Barnett • barnett@marinelink.com; Tel: (212) 477-6700

Advertising Sales Managers

Lucia Annunziata Dawn Trauthwein John Smith annunziata@marinelink.com dtrauthwein@marinelink.com smith@marinelink.com

Tel: (212) 477-6700 Tel: (631) 868-3575 Tel: (561) 733-2477

Fax: (212) 254-6271 Fax: (631) 868-3575 Fax: (561) 732-9670

Tristan McDermott Jack Bond Terry Breese mcdermott@marinelink.com bond@marinelink.com breese@marinelink.com

Tel: (561) 732-0312 Tel: (561) 732-1659 Tel: (561) 732-1185

Fax: (561) 732-9670 Fax: (561) 732-8063 Fax: (561) 732-8414

Managing Director, Tony Stein • tony.r.stein@btinternet.com

International Sales 12, Braehead, Bo'ness, West Lothian EH51 OBZ, Scotland, U.K.

Tel/Fax: +44 (0) 1506 822240

Scandinavia Roland Persson • roland@orn.nu

ÖRN MARKETING AB, Box 184, S-271 24 Ystad, Sweden

Tel: +46 411-184 00; Fax: +46 411 105 31

Western Europe Uwe Riemeyer • riemeyer@intermediapartners.de

Tel: +49 202 27169 0 ; Fax: +49 202 27169 20

Japan Katsuhiro Ishii • amskatsu@dream.com

Ace Media Service Inc., 12-6, 4-chome, Nishiike, Adachi-ku, Tokyo 121, Japan

Tel: +81 3 5691 3335; Fax: + 81 3 5691 3336

Korea Jo, Young Sang • biscom@biscom.co.kr

Business Communications, Inc., Rm 1232, Gwanghwamoon Officia Bldg. 163, 1-Ga, Shinmoon-Ro, Jongro-Gu, Seoul, Korea 110-999

Tel: +82 2 739 7840; Fax: +82 2 732 3662

CORPORATE STAFF

Manager, Accounting Services Esther Rothenberger • rothenberger@marinelink.com

Manager, Public Relations Mark O’Malley • momalley@marinelink.com

Manager, Information Vladimir Bibik • bibik@marinelink.com

Technology Services

CIRCULATION

Circulation Manager Kathleen Hickey • mrcirc@ marinelink.com

Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.