Page 6: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (April 2002)

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of April 2002 Maritime Reporter Magazine

Those companies that belabor the arduous conditions prevalent in business today will literally be left on the docks when the pace picks up dur- ing the coming year. All signs seem to point towards the start of economic recov- ery in the U.S., though the ripple effects will take some time to filter through to maritime and offshore businesses. Despite a generally dour hangover from the past 12 months, business oppor- tunities are available to those who seek them.

Politics and irrational bean counters aside, the U.S. Navy will present ample opportunities for companies selling into this market in the decades to come. The cacophony of individual interests making cases for increased dollars at budget time does a great dis- service to the causes that are truly needy. While the U.S. Navy and its supporters, particularly the American Shipbuilding Associ- ation, have added decibels to this homogenous voice, it is an inescapable fact that — to maintain its status as a world power for the coming decades — the U.S. must initiate an aggressive ship and boatbuilding program now to avoid future shortcomings.

While the need for more money is clear and justified, the size and look of the Navy of tomorrow is a bit fuzzy. The tremendous military build-up during the Cold War centered on aircraft carrier battle groups, and the presence and reality of massive doses of lethal force. While carrier groups are indeed a cornerstone of the

Navy of tomorrow, work currently underway under the steady guidance of Rear Admiral Robert G. Sprigg at the Navy Warfare

Development Command seeks to assist in providing clarity, and is focused on smaller, faster vessels, and the role that they can play in facing future defense challenges. The Navy section begins on page 24.

Opportunities of the non-lethal variety are presenting them- selves in the Offshore realm, as the ability to discover and recover energy products in increasingly deeper waters evolves rapidly.

Three stories in this edition: Offshore Service Vessels on page 40; a

Deepwater Offshore Market Projection from Quest Offshore on page 50; and a detailed analysis of LNG Ship Demand on page 74 help to adequately illustrate this point.

MARITIME REPORTER

AND

ENGINEERING NEWS

NEW YORK 118 E. 25th St., New York, NY 10010

Tel: (212) 477-6700; Fax: (212) 254-6271 e-mail: mren@marinelink.com • Internet: www.marinelink.com

FLORIDA 215 NW 3rd St., Boynton Beach, FL 33435

EDITORIAL

Managing Editor

Regina P. Ciardiello • ciardiello@marinelink.com

Assistant Editor

Jennifer Rabulan • rabulan@marinelink.com

Technical Editor

David Tinsley

Editorial Consultant

James R. McCaul, president,

International Maritime Associates

MARKETING

Marketing Manager

Richard Grable • grable@marinelink.com

Tel: (561) 732-1659; Fax: (561) 732-6984

ASSOCIATE PUBLISHER

Gregory R. Trauthwein • trauthwein@marinelink.com

PRODUCTION

Production Manager

Michael Lowe • lowe@marinelink.com

Asst. Production Manager

Oksana Martemy • martemy@marinelink.com

CIRCULATION

Circulation Manager

Dale L. Barnett • barrett@marinelink.com

ADVERTISING SALES

Vice President of Sales

Lucia M. Annunziata • annunziata@marinelink.com

National Sales Manager

Rob Howard • howard@marinelink.com

Tel: 941-949-5351; Fax: 941-949-5358

Chief Financial Officer

Al Adinolfi

North American Sales Manager

Brett W. Keil • bkeil@marinelink.com

Tel: (561) 732-1185; Fax: (561) 732-6984

Director, New Business Development

Jean Vertucci • vertucci@marinelink.com

Electronic Product Sales

Joe Trubinsky • trubinsky@marinelink.com

Tel: (561) 732-4368; Fax: (208) 575-3217

Assistant to the Vice President of Sales

Tina Angelino • angelino@marinelink.com

Accounting Manager

Angelica Rivera • arivera@marinelink.com

Classified Sales

Tel: (212) 477-6700

PUBLISHER

John E. 0'Malley

John C. 0'Malley • jomalley@marinelink.com www.marinelink.com trauthwein @ marinelink.com to Data©!} S fetomfe tetate

Electronic Products & Services www.maritimetoday.com

Customized e-mail news service deliv- - ered twice a day, including the latest contracts, casualties, people & compa- ny reports. www.maritimejobs.com

The marine industry's recruiting & employment resource. www.marinelink.com

The Internet's largest marine website, recording more than 270,000 "hits" per month. Daily news, data & statis- tics, industry directories.

MarineNews

Published 18 times per year, MarineNews is the leading provider of information and analysis for the North Ameri- can inland/offshore shallow draft market.

Looking for service reliability, we deliver it.

ABB Turbochargers

AM

New York/NJ, Miami, Houston, Seattle/Tacoma, Los Angeles - email: turbochargers@us.abb.com 6

Circle 201 on Reader Service Card or visit www.maritimereporterinfo.com

Maritime Reporter/Engineering News

Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.